Souleyman Ladji Koné

    Ladji starts dancing as a self-taught teacher in his neighborhood of Ouagadougou in Burkina Faso. In 2003, the discovery of hip-hop culture channeled its exuberant energy and breakdance became his laboratory of research of possible. After trainings in theater and musicality he opens to contemporary dance. In 2012 he joined the school EDIT Irène Tassembédo for a three-year vocational training. Other experiences, trainings and residences follow, Ladji passes by the places like the CDCN the Echangeur Hauts-de-France, the Ecole des Sables, the CDC the Termitière, the EDIT, the Black-Ballet Pavilion Preljocaj, the laboratory Ankata and Hellerau / European Center for the Arts Dresden …

    Today, Ladji continues his artistic research at the intersection of languages: hip-hop, traditional, contemporary dances, and theater. In the company cieL K, he merged his universe with the visual artist Michaela Solnická Volná. The creations of the company cultivate actions and creations rooted in dance and design in encounter with various artistic disciplines. This open approach and this emphasis on complicity, maintains dynamism and perpetual questioning without prejudices and brings Ladji to work with choreographers and artists like Amala Dianor, Mie Coquempot, Roger Nydegger, Erwann Bouvier, Anouar Dekkaki, Jann Gallois, Marion Alzieu, Jean-Robert Kiki Koudogbo, Avatara Ayuso … His collaborations do not want to know borders or limits of styles.

    He is a co-founder and artistic director of the Hip Hop Collective JUMP (United Youth for a Positive Movement) in Burkina Faso, with the aim of innovating and boosting his meetings for the benefit of young people in Africa and elsewhere.

Souleyman Ladji Koné

    Ladji débute la danse en autodidacte dans son quartier de Ouagadougou au Burkina Faso. En 2003, la découverte de la culture hip-hop canalise son énergie exubérante et la breakdance devient son laboratoire de recherche du possible. Après des formations en théâtre et en musicalité, il s’ouvre à la danse contemporaine. En 2012 il intègre l’école EDIT d´Irène Tassembédo pour une formation professionnelle de trois ans. D’autres expériences, formations et résidences suivent, Ladji passe par les lieux comme le CDCN l’Echangeur Hauts-de-France, l’Ecole des Sables, le CDC la Termitière, l´EDIT, le Pavillon Noir-Ballet Preljocaj, le laboratoire Ankata et Hellerau / Centre Européen des Arts de Dresde…

    Aujourd’hui, Ladji poursuit sa recherche artistique au croisement des langages : danses hip-hop, traditionnelles, contemporaines, et le théâtre. Dans la compagnie Ciel K, Il a fusionné son univers avec l’artiste visuelle Michaela Solnická Volná. Les créations de la compagnie cultivent des actions et des créations enracinées dans la danse et design en rencontre de toutes les disciplines artistiques. Cette approche ouverte et cet accent mis sur la complicité, entretient le dynamisme et le questionnement perpétuel sans les préjugés et amènent Ladji à travailler avec les chorégraphes et artistes comme Amala Dianor, Mie Coquempot, Roger Nydegger, Erwann Bouvier, Anouar Dekkaki, Jann Gallois, Marion Alzieu, Jean- Robert Kiki Koudogbo, Avatara Ayuso… Ses collaborations ne veulent pas connaitre les frontières ou des limites de styles.

    Il est membre co-fondateur et directeur artistique au sein du Collectif de danseurs Hip-hop JUMP (Jeunesse Unie pour un Mouvement Positif) au Burkina Faso, pour objectif d’innover et dynamiser ses rencontres au profit des jeunes en Afrique et d’ailleurs.